“Allergic to taking leave”

Those are the words my sister said to me when I told her that the office had called me in a day after taking time off from work.

It keeps happening all the time. Took time off to prepare for examinations but thanks to Corona, they were rescheduled to July. A whole month after the set time! Having received the memo on the rescheduled exams, I naturally shared with the family. Before they could ask about the work situation, I mentioned that I’d return to work the following week to save my days. As expected, you are allergic to taking leave floated around the room. I smiled and explained that it was for the purpose of conserving the days for the appropriate time. How that explanation fell on deaf ears 😐

As a matter of fact, I am not allergic to taking leave. I am just not very productive at home and would rather be in a place where I am doing something while counting down to when I would get home and completely loathe getting up in the morning the following day. Is that so hard to understand? 🤷🏿‍♀️🤷🏿‍♀️🤷🏿‍♀️

Leave a comment